Red Square


The 54th Eurovision Song Contest 2009 in Moscow


The 54th EU wide Eurovision Song Contest took place between 12 and 16 May 2009 at the Olympic Indoor Arena in Moscow. It was the first Eurovision Song Contest hosted by Russia.

Those countries which hadn’t got enough score at the previous Eurovision to get to the finals of the next one participated in two semi-finals of the Contest.

Thirty seven European countries took part in semi-finals of Eurovision-2009: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and Ukraine.

Participants from Lithuania, Israel, France, Sweden, Croatia, Portugal, Iceland, Greece, Armenia, Russia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Moldova, Malta, Estonia, Denmark, Germany, Turkey, Albania, Norway, Ukraine, Romania, Great Britain, Finland, Iceland got into the final.

The final show started by the performance of the last contest winner Dima Bilan who flew over the audience with the help of the special ropes and broke walls on his way to the main contest stage.

While the votes were being counted the audience enjoyed the performance of Argentinian show “Fuerza Bruta”.

Voting was announced through direct transmission by Russian cosmonaut Gennady Padalka and Japanese astronaut Koiti Wakata of the ISS 19th long-term crew. Koiti Wakata quoted the first cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin “Here we go!” and then the voting started.

Eurovision-2009 was one of the most memorable shows in the whole history of the contest.